Going back to work after maternity leave 


So you’ve decided to go back to work after maternity leave – By decided of course I mean you have no choice.

Short of a lottery win your mortgage/rent is practically holding a gun to your head.

You can see the light (of the burning flames of hell) at the end of the tunnel – and you’re seeing it from a train traveling at 100 miles per hour.

Suddenly your maternity leave seems to have evaporated but the (numbered) days somehow feel longer.

You’re struggling to get out of the house to do things as the motivation isn’t there – It’s a gloriously sunny day but you just want to shut the world away and cuddle your baby(s).

You need to find the will to make the most of the time you have.

Go for a picnic.

Fill the paddling pool.

Play. Dance. Sing.

It’s not the end of the world. You still have time as your life enters a new dimension.

You’ll go back to your job (or to a new one) and you’ll be great at it. You’ll see old friends (and make new ones) and you’ll enjoy it.

Money isn’t everything but you’re doing it for them.

For buying them stuff they need (and stuff they don’t), for days out, for holidays.

For making memories.

For the smile, the cuddle, the ‘I missed you mummy’ at the end of the day.

You’ll still be an amazing mummy and your baby(s) will still love you. You’ll make more of the time you have with them as it – like them – will become even more precious ❤️

I am you and I understand X

6 Comments

  1. I don’t wanna go back 2 work! I feel like I wanna scream kick n tantrum t fuck outa this till I get told it’s ok u don’t hav 2 go 2 work just go & enjoy ur baby some more

    Like

  2. I actually feel guilty for enjoying going to work I shouldn’t but do, I get that bit of me time and being me instead of mom ! Still miss them though but I’m lucky I work when they are in bed !

    Like

  3. A friend of mine really struggled with going back to work after maternity leave. I didn’t. I was ready to go back to work, excited even. I’m lucky though as we decided we could make it work if my husband quit his job to stay home, so that’s what we did. I still miss my son a lot and the adjustment was a bit tough (it’s hard to go from a year at home to all of a sudden not), but the excitement on his face when I get home from work is pretty amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

